1095 powder failure

Notifications
Clear all

1095 powder failure

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I have been attempting to create 1095 powder and fish hook canister pattern weld. I have only had one successful billet.  The other six attempts, after removing the canister and I start to forge the billet, it develops surface cracks that will go through the entire billet. I am using 1" square tubing and setting the welds by hand. 

Initially, I suspected I was overheating the powder and I reduced the time in the forge from 25 to 10 minutes. I clean the fish hooks with acetone and let air dry. I have never worked with 1095 powder before and not familiar with its characteristics. When I break the billet to examine the inner, it appears the steel is still looks like the powder has not welded. I will send photos later today.

I use a two burner propane forge and have no issues welding layered steel. I have been wanting to learn this method but I struggling.

I would appreciate any advice to improve my skills.

Posted : 01/10/2021 3:21 pm
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith

I have extensive experience with powder of all different types. 

There are lot of "IFs" involved, but I can tell you that you are not allowing enough soak time.  In my shop, regardless of "can" size, the soak time is at least 45mins AFTER the billed appears to be at welding heat. 

'The way I explain it when I'm teaching is.... you have to think of each grain of powdered steel as an individual layer in a stacked billet...if EVERY layer isn't completely at welding heat, it's not going to weld. so it MUST soak long enough to get every single grain to welding heat.    That's sometimes not as simple as it might seem.... there is a lot of air space in a powder can/billet, even if you compress everything prior to welding on the final lid, there is still significant air space to eliminate before the can/billet can be solid.