Notifications
Clear all

Cracks On 5160 Blade

14 Posts
6 Users
1 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,

Today I was hand sanding two 5160 blades and a noticed very small cracks on both of them. They are all parallel to the edge and do not seem to go through. I have been forging for a couple years now and had never seen this. Does anyone know what causes it? I was suspecting a problem in the bar stock, since all of the cracks are in the same direction, but I do not know. In one of the knives they are near the edge, in the other, I found one near the spine. They are so small that I could only see them after hand sanding.

Here are some information about the knives: 5160 steel, forged from bar stock, heat treated with an electric oven, normalized (3 cycles), quenched, at 1560 F, in canola oil at 120 F, normalized at 390 F, in two 1 h cycles.

In the picture, the crack is the small line near the edge, inside the circle. I tried to remove it with 220 grit hand sanding, with no success (it even seemed to disappear and come back). I will try with the grinder, but I am afraid that I will need to start from scratch.

Thank you for your help!

Posted : 19/02/2021 4:32 am
Kevin R. Cashen

How long was it held at 1560°F? This is a bit high for this alloy. 5160 responds best to 1525°F. This could be an artifact of forging or of heat treatment. Fi the crack is still there you may want to snap the blade for a review of grain. It is more valuable as a broken sample that tells you your grain size than a blade with a crack in it.

"One test is worth 1000 'expert' opinions" Riehle Testing Machines Co.

Posted : 19/02/2021 11:16 am
Topic starter

One blade soaked at 1560 F for 5 minutes, the other for 10. Is it too long?

Posted : 19/02/2021 3:56 pm
Kevin R. Cashen

|quoted:

One blade soaked at 1560 F for 5 minutes, the other for 10. Is it too long?

At 1560°F it may be. At 1525°F it seems about right.

Posted : 20/02/2021 4:27 pm
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith