Notifications
Clear all

Looking For Recommendations - Hand Forging

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi All,

I am pretty new to Damascus and do everything by hand. To date I have really only made twist Damascus. I am currently working on a new billet and it is at 64 layers currently. I looking for some recommendations on which basic patterns lend themselves the best to hand forging? Also topic would be, which patterns seem to be best at retaining the most material? Due to the slow progress using the hand hammer, I end up losing a lot of material to scale on top of any alterations made for a pattern.

Thanks for any Suggestions,

Josh

Posted : 08/03/2019 2:13 pm
Kevin R. Cashen

A question that I can appreciate because my favorite patterns are the ones that waste the least material and are easy to do. This why I will always make more twist based patterns that others, there is no quicker way to pattern a piece of steel with almost no waste than to twist it. On the other hand, one pattern that I like the least is ladder, I hate turning that much steel into dust. As for hand hammering v.s. press/power hammer, the very idea of patterning is controlling the resulting pattern, making it symmetrical or uniform. So There are great many "patterns" that work better with a power hammer, and best with a press. But if chaos or randomness is the basis of the pattern, then hand hammering will work better. Hand hammers naturally produce more interesting random patterns, and if you work with flat dies on a power hammer or press, you almost need to make "randomizer" texturing tools to make the pattern interesting. Of course, twists also can overcome, or even benefit, from the random deformation of a hand hammer.

"One test is worth 1000 'expert' opinions" Riehle Testing Machines Co.

Posted : 08/03/2019 9:03 pm
Joshua States