Notifications
Clear all

L1Bowie Wip

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

I have an old saw blade that is L1 and I got it down to this shape. Well my handle tang isn't great. SO, I was thinking of adding some to it and making it wider/taller so I could put a full tang handle on.

But then I was thinking why not do a hidden tang with a peened end.

Leave most of the handle thickness then take the end and draw it out a little so I can peen it over onto a 4140 hammer style pommel.

Thoughts on this being a good or bad idea?

Attached files

Posted : 05/09/2019 12:12 pm

I wish I could offer you some advice but I have never worked with old saw blade material before or L1.

Want to see more of my work follow me on Instagram:JasonVolkertKnives

Want to get in touch with me [email="[email protected]"]Email[/email] me.

Posted : 06/09/2019 8:59 am
Topic starter

Well also looking for peening advice on something like this. I have not tried it.

I just know to use a thousand lighter taps rather than 5 heavy ones.

but will the L1 peen over nice?

Thinking I will HT blade then temper then really soften the end so I can peen it but keep it hard enough.

sometimes I just like talking it out to tell myself that I got it and its ok too.

Posted : 06/09/2019 12:37 pm

I never done a through tang and peened the end before either lol. I have only been doing hidden tang with pin and epoxy to hold it all together.

I might be a 100% wrong on this but I think L1 can air harden if so it might not be a good idea

Want to see more of my work follow me on Instagram:JasonVolkertKnives

Want to get in touch with me [email="[email protected]"]Email[/email] me.

Posted : 06/09/2019 2:11 pm
Joshua States

|quoted:

Well also looking for peening advice on something like this. I have not tried it.

I just know to use a thousand lighter taps rather than 5 heavy ones.

but will the L1 peen over nice?