Notifications
Clear all

Need Help With A " Combat Boot Knife"

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I was wondering if I could get some input on a knife that I'll be making for a spec op soldier. His wife is commissioning the knife as a gift for his deployment in mid Feb and states that he is interested in a "combat boot knife". Being a self taught apprentice smith, this makes me slightly nervous about creating a useful and durable knife that may actually be needed to protect a soldier's life. I usually forge 1095 and heat treat using my propane forge but I'm feeling that this knife may be better off if I farm out the knife to a professional heat treater. I'd like help with the following (or any other advise you may have) on:

1. What steel(s) would you suggest be best for this type of knife?

2. Is this a candidate for a professional heat treat? If not, how would I know for sure that I'm getting the most out of the steel?

3. Design suggestions? The internet is full of "combat boot knives" but I'm trying to wrap my head around what makes a combat boot knife a combat boot knife?

Thanks in advance.

My Website for reference

Posted : 08/12/2013 1:11 pm
BrionTomberlin

Hello Darrell. Personally I would go with 5160. Easy to heat treat, very tough when heat treated correctly, easy to sharpen. Just do the standard thermal cycling, quench in canola oil or what you use for 1095, temper at 400 for two hours and repeat. You might draw the spine and tang with a torch. I am thinking about a five to six inch blade with a spearpoint bowie style, minimal guard, and micarta or g-10 handle.

Good work

Brion

Brion Tomberlin

Anvil Top Custom Knives

ABS Mastersmith

Posted : 08/12/2013 3:29 pm
Robert Wright

Darrell,

Just for thought. My nephew, Marines, just got back from Afghanistan. He said when they came back, customs checked them 3 times! They confiscated all non issued blades.

That being said I like Brion's idea!

Bob

Posted : 08/12/2013 4:24 pm