Clear all

New Member Introduction

12 Posts
5 Users
0 Reactions
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

Hello Everyone, 

My name is Jacob Christian and my company is Besslen Bladeworks. I specialize in making Wootz steel in Riverside, California. I have been making carbon steel and pattern welded knives for about 14 years and Wootz knives for a little over 2 years. 

I recently attended the Solvang Custom knife show (My very first knife show) where some very nice people suggested that I joined the ABS. I had thought about it before and now I am finally here. 

Other than hunting/kitchen knives, I have a love for Japanese swords. I have made a handful of them and have a collection of 5 Nihonto swords. 

Outside of knife making, I am a computer programmer. I also like hunting, fishing, snowboarding, and playing around with microelectronics. I have also recently gotten into making YouTube Videos thanks to some challenges that Denis Tyrell puts on. I know quite the collection of completely unrelated things....

Posted : 15/05/2024 1:14 pm
Michael Samdahl
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith

Jacob Christian,

Wow, welcome Sir. Make sure you throw up some photos, I am sure a lot of us would love to see your work with wootz

Respectfully
Michael

Posted : 16/05/2024 9:51 am
Topic starter

Michael Samdahl, 

Here are the 3 different knives from the same ingot that I just finished up. 

Posted : 20/05/2024 12:26 pm
Topic starter

Wenge segmented scales. 

Posted : 20/05/2024 12:27 pm
Topic starter

Spalted Maple and trustone

Posted : 20/05/2024 12:28 pm
Michael Samdahl
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith

Jacob Christian,

Wow, those patterns are just so mesmerizing. Where do you even get the material from? England? 

Respectfully
Michael

Posted : 20/05/2024 12:46 pm
Topic starter