Notifications
Clear all

Giving Back To The Abs-How You Can Help The Expo

1 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Giving back to the ABS – How you can help the EXPO

The 2012 ABS EXPO is only a few months away and I wanted to share a few thoughts on the EXPO with all of you. When I attended my first ABS Hammer- In Dubois, WY in 1984, it was the first time I had ever met any other bladesmiths even though I had been forging blades since 1975. I was isolated in Maine (pre- internet) and I thought I was the only bladesmith in the world. You can imagine my excitement meeting Mastersmiths Bill Moran, Jim Schmidt, Don Hastings, and Hanford Miller and also my apprehension of how they would view my simple little hunting knives. The ABS had been around for a few years, but the membership was still small and there were only a handful of Mastersmiths. I was amazed at how willing these Mastersmiths were to help all of the attendees with ideas, suggestions and words or encouragement.

Fast forward a few years – I had just received my MS stamp and I was at a show talking to Jim Schmidt and I suggested that the ABS should have its own show. Jim chuckled and said “It will never happen. There would never be enough bladesmiths to put on a show.” I wish he was still with us to be a part of the ABS EXPO, and experience what he and the other Mastersmiths started up in WY in 1984.