Notifications
Clear all

Forge Help- Heating Steel

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I am new to blacksmithing and have recently built a new forge(Pictures attached) the burner I bought on Ebay to help get higher temperature. The forge has Kaowool all around it except the top. I run the burner with 8-10 PSI and it takes 10 mins of cold steel to get to an orange temperature the max I can heat steel to(picture attached). So I have several questions:

Is they any way to get my forge hotter?

What PSI do you run your regulator at?

Do you only forge when steel is yellow meaning I shouldn't worry about getting my steel hotter?

How long does it take to heat steel to a yellow temperature in your forge?

Also any other tips?

Here is my forge burner: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Propane-Foundry-Kiln-with-Regulator-0-20-PSI-48-Hose-with-Forge-Burner-U-S/162583922905?hash=item25dac1c8d9:g:ducAAOSwqztZYmdk

Sorry for all the questions but I am new to blacksmithing and I need to work on hammering skills and I don't want to be wasting time not hitting hot enough steel. Any help would be much appreciated, Thank You!

Attached files

Posted : 03/06/2018 5:20 pm
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith

Is they any way to get my forge hotter?

I see a lot of inefficient things with that forge. First, a "square" design on a forge tends to produce significant hot and cold spots. Particularity with the burner placement being what it is. I don't think that with that particular design/style that you'd gona do much better on heat.

Propane forges don't need to be tightly enclosed, in fact just the opposite....they need to "breath" to be efficient. However, they do need to be well insulated. That one is somewhat lacking.