Notifications
Clear all

Ribbon Burner Question

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I am about to build a longer & larger diameter forge, mine is just to small. It will be 24" long x 9" square (round in this case), I want to use forced air to conserve fuel and get better use of it. It will have 3" thick kwool to hold heat in. I would really like some experienced advice on this forge, I have never done one like this before.

Minimum Effort = Minimum Results every time

Posted : 07/05/2019 5:48 pm
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

I have built several of them. There's was a lot of trial and error that went into mine. What I learned is that you dont want to build the burner over 10" long. Seems like the longer ones I built ended up cracking. You need to use Mizzou castable or an equivalent. You need to cure the castable as per the instructions. I use gate valves to control the air. You need at least a 125cfm blower. I usually build round forges but this last one I built it was square. I have a couple YouTube videos of different ones running. Here are a few pics of the last one I put together. You want to use some kind of solenoid valve in case you lose power. This square one I built. I have 2" of duraboard 1" of kawool lined with a 99% alumina castable refractory that is highly flux resistant. If you have questions I will do my best to answer. As I am not a professional and I an just sharing my experience. With a forge that size I would want at least 27 5/16" holes, the burner no longer than 9.5". The orfice needs to be around 1/16". The 1/16" orfice will give you greater control.

Attached files

Posted : 07/05/2019 8:58 pm

Here's another view through my welding helmet.

Attached files

Posted : 07/05/2019 9:12 pm
Joshua States

Here is my ribbon burner forge in an old water tank top. The pic is after I turned it off because the picture of it running was way too bright to capture.