Notifications
Clear all

What Do I Need

12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
Trusted Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

Ok I am wanting to expand my knife making capabilities and want to start forging some of my knives. I just need to know what I need to get started. I forged a one knife already using an old coal forge with hand crank but want to get something more hands free I guess. I would like a propane forge since I have a 500 gal propain tank attached to my garage that never gets used anymore. Ialso need to know about hammers ect. I am new to this and dont really have anyone here willing to help me out. All the help I can get would be appreciated.

Posted : 13/06/2012 8:32 pm
Admin_DJC305

Kyle

I saw your JOIN when it came in today. Welcome to the American Bladesmith Society and the ABS Forum. You will find the ABS Forum to be an excellent source of bladesmithing information.

To address some of your questions and to get you started please check the following Topics on the ABS Forum, Click:

Forging Hammers

Gas Forge Selection

Dan Cassidy
Journeyman Smith
Send an email to Dan

Posted : 13/06/2012 9:38 pm
Topic starter

So will the NC tools knife maker forge work ok until I get to the point I am making damascus? They are not to far away from here.

Posted : 13/06/2012 9:48 pm
BrionTomberlin

Hello Kyle and welcome. I use a NC Tool whisper daddy low boy forge and it works fine. It will also reach welding temperature with no problem. They heat up fast. Just make sure to order the forge bottom liner if you decide to do damascus.

Like Dan mentioned check out the forging hammer thread and forge thread. You also will want to look into steel for forging. I will suggest Aldo Bruno at New Jersey Steel Baron.

http://stores.njsteelbaron.com/StoreFront.bok

Go for the 1084. It is easy to heat treat and makes a very good blade. This steel will also work well with 15N20 for damascus.