Notifications
Clear all

Which Oven Do You Recommend?

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

I am finally looking to buy a heat treat oven. I will not be building one... so with that in mind, which oven do you recommend? What about the controls? Is there a significant advantage of one model to the next? Is there a significant reliability or lifespan difference in the paragon versus evenheat?

And most importantly 110 or 220? Thanks in advance.

Posted : 20/02/2018 11:19 pm
Karl B. Andersen

I have been using my Evenheat now for nearly 15 years.

I have replaced the coils a couple times. They are inexpensive and are an acceptable cost to me.

There is really nothing to wear out in either company's unit.

I am certain the Paragon is a well built oven, but I have no experience with it.

Even heat has upgraded the original controls for those who want classier and mare variable programs, but the original set-pro has all of the functions we as knife makers will ever need.

If I had to buy another one - I'd buy another Evenheat with the Set-pro control.

Karl B. Andersen

Journeyman Smith

Posted : 21/02/2018 9:09 am
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith

There was a time when I would have recommended Paragon hands down, but over the last few years, their customer service has taken a severe nose dive. Personally, I own two ovens, a Paragon, and another which is a Paragon knockoff, and while both work well, I've had lengthy waits when I've need any parts, and it's taken SEVERAL phone calls to Paragon to get them to ship the parts I needed.