Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] Apprentice Pictures

136 Posts
66 Users
9 Likes
15.9 K Views
New Member Guest

My first forged knife. Didn't really have a design in mind, just sort of freestyled to get used to everything. I have no experience with blacksmithing so it was certainly a learning experience!

Posted : 08/04/2016 3:09 pm

This is the first knife that I made. I just recently finished it with great guidance and patient teaching from Wes Byrd j.s. These are progression pictures. 5 unfinished ones and 5 finished ones. Enjoy!

Attached files

Posted : 30/04/2016 4:20 pm
Estimable Member Journeyman Bladesmith

I figure I'd add a few more.

Posted : 30/04/2016 8:41 pm
Estimable Member Journeyman Bladesmith

And a few more.

Posted : 30/04/2016 8:57 pm

Just finished my first hand forged knife. I modified a Canadian belt knife style skinning blade that I had. The goal was a light weight pack knife good for gutting, skinning, caping, and boning, that would work on small to large game. The steel is Aldo's 1084 and the handle is a simple epoxy soaked jute wrap to keep it slim plus a good grip when wet and gory from doing its job. Learned a lot about things to do better next time, but still pretty damn happy with the way it turned out. I'm going to give this one to the wife for mothers day. Can't wait till hunting season to see how it performs

Posted : 02/05/2016 12:01 am

New guy here. I have always been a tinkerer but only started knives 2 years ago. I enjoy building the tools as much as the knives! I love forums and boards. I am more or less self taught and boards like these are how I puzzle things out. Here are a few of my examples.

Attached files

Posted : 08/06/2016 9:15 pm
BrionTomberlin

Those are some nice knives Jason. Looks like good clean work. Thank you for sharing.

Brion

Brion Tomberlin

Anvil Top Custom Knives

ABS Mastersmith

Posted : 08/06/2016 9:20 pm