Forget Stones Get A...

Notifications
Clear all

Forget Stones Get A Set Of These Insted.

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I bought these because I had a one I got with a Flitz polishing kit, and also just love my 2 Dimond sharpening stones (one for in the shop one for indoors.) what took me about 20 min or more(depending on if I get distracted) with a traditional (artificial) 600 gritstone and my preferred method of polishing (see below) took me 3 minutes with its equivalent stick(The red one.) these are worth far more then their price. I am looking forward to seeing how long they will last as there not very thick.

how i am polishing is I hold the handle in my right hand and have a finger on the top of the other end and do it tip to tang. with the next grit up, I will be going edge to spine. I just dip in water every so often to keep it from clogging.

I am still learning Hand polish however it had become a bit of a chore for me but no longer is.

https://usaknifemaker.com/diamond-hone-pad-stick-5pack-1200-600-400250-150grit-asst.html

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B002RL83DQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Attached files

Posted : 08/02/2020 6:34 pm
Topic starter

NOTE: there is one downside in this set and that is the jump from 600 to 1200, and it just takes longer to get it polished.

Posted : 08/02/2020 8:35 pm
Topic starter

|quoted:

NOTE: there is one downside in this set and that is the jump from 600 to 1200, and it just takes longer to get it polished.

It may be a good idea to brake them in on a piece of scrap as the grains can be a bit uneven at first and i think that's just from the manufacturing prosses used.

Posted : 09/02/2020 10:22 pm
Topic starter

However, getting if you can afford it i say get the diamond bench stones.

Posted : 10/02/2020 6:08 pm
Topic starter