Clear all

Question About Grinder Belts

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Travis
Topic starter

Hello,

First off I would like to introduce myself as I am new and I would like people to have a little background to see where I am coming from. I am very new to bladesmithing having only started in the last year so I am still in the early stages of learning. I have wanted to start learning for quite a long time but certain situations in life made it difficult to do anything other than read about it. I have been in the military for about 10 years and my latest duty assignment has me stationed in Belgium, and a great oppertunity has presented itself to start learning. There is a bladesmithing club in one of the little towns near where I live, and there are quite a few very talented people making knives there. Everyone is very friendly, but there is a communication barrier with quite a few of them as my French is pretty horrible. It’s good though as I am learning and having fun doing it. All that being said I apologize if some of my questions are very basic as I am just starting out.

So for my first question I would like to ask about grinder belts. There seems to be so many types available and I find it hard knowing what types to use for what. There seems to be so many types its hard to tell what to use. Any advice would be very helpful for choosing the right ones.

Travis

Posted : 25/05/2010 7:35 am
Steve Culver
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith/ABS Instructor

Hi Travis,

The belts that you ultimately wind up using will be a combination of what you find works best for you in your shop and what you get used to using . There are a lot of good belts out there that I have not tried, because I have I have developed a grinding style that works with the belts that I have used for a long time. I encourage you to experiment with different belts to find what you like best. Below are the belts that I use.