Which Wheel Is A Go...

Notifications
Clear all

Which Wheel Is A Good Starter?

13 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Ive come close to exhausting my financial ability to purchase any more bladesmithing tools. Im just starting out and I did buy a Beaumont KMG grinder with platen however i chose to go with a cheap harbor frieght 1hp farm duty motor for now. I believe i need a contact wheel as well. What is a good wheel to start with? there are so many to chose from im a bit overwhelmed. 6, 8, 10, 12 or 14 inch? Poly vs duo. Just trying to get a decient one to start out with. Forged my first knife yesterday. Truly excited about it.

Thank you for any insight,

Matthew Orr

Village Idiot

Posted : 20/12/2015 10:44 pm
Noble Member Apprentice Bladesmith

Matthew,

Unless you are wanting to do a hollow grind on your blades then you won't need a contact wheel. Most of us use a flat grind and you have a platen already. A small wheel attachment can be handy for handle work but not a necessity.

Gary

Posted : 20/12/2015 10:58 pm
New Member Guest

I started with a platen and small wheel attachment. The only wheel I added was a 5" one. I use it when working on handled. I have yet to need any others.

In one of my intro classes the instructor did show how to use an 8" one to remove scale but, I don't have one and probably will not buy one. Sooner or later you will feel the need for a better motor.

Posted : 21/12/2015 12:54 am
Lin Rhea

Matthew, I have a 10 inch round wheel but only use it occasionally. The most two attachments I use are the flat platen and the rotary platen. I also think you should plan to buy a 2 hp motor as soon as you can.

Lin Rhea, ABS Mastersmith

[email="[email protected]"]Email me[/email]

www.rheaknives.com

Posted : 21/12/2015 9:13 am
Matthew Parkinson
Honorable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)