The Order Of Things...

Notifications
Clear all

The Order Of Things To Come

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

While I am new to the ABS, I am not new to knifemaking. I have been making knives now for about six years, and during this time, I have read articles, joined the "Knife Network" and tried to improve my knives....but there is one area that I have shy-ed away from to a large extent...and that area is the ricasso. I have included a ricasso on several of my knives, but having recently joined the ABS, I am aware that I need to be giving more attention to this particular area, and I have some questions.

At what point in the forging process do you devote your un-divided attention to this all important area. I have tried to do this area immediately after developing the point...but then there is much work to follow where the ricasso area could be potentially damaged by a mis-struck hammer blow ...grinder scratch etc...and yet...it is impossible to corectly define the blade without a ricasso. Is it enough to know where the ricasso will eventually be, or does it need to be firmly in place and fully developed before establishing the blade bevel. I have tried covering up the ricasso with duct tape...and this does help...but does not gaurantee a pristeen ricasso....mistakes can and do still happen. I have found no way to "idiot proof" the process, but perhaps there is improvement to be found in proper sequencing.