Notifications
Clear all

A general inquiry into a. how to inlay raised wire into wooden handles, and b. who the best suppliers to source mammoth bark and interior ivory from?

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Liam Walle
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

This is my first time asking anything on here so I'm not entirely sure how things work, and also I wasn't sure where to ask, so if it should have been in another sub-forum, my apologies. I'm an apprentice in New Zealand and I'm planning to present my journeyman set next year in 2024 at Bladeshow Atlanta. On one of my knives I plan to inlay an array of silver wires into the wooden handle of a dagger (not sure on wood yet but probably rosewood or amboyna burl) in the shape of two angels (inspired by 'the subtle knife' from the books by Phillip Pullman). I was curious as to whether one needs to dovetail the grooves and have the wire mechanically set (which seems risky for wood) or is having a tight fit and gluing them in sufficient? Also what glue is advisable, would simple epoxy work or would a fast drying superglue work better? As per the second question in the title, mammoth ivory, I've been a little scared to use it thus far as I don't want to stuff something like that up, but I wanted to include some in a few of the knives for bladeshow and my set. I can't really get to a show before then, also I'd really like to have some blue bark for a clamshell bowie for the J.S set and I've heard they cannot be bought at shows? Any suppliers I can contact online and have some shipped?

Also any general advice on J.S knives, exhibiting at Bladeshow Atlanta, or really anything you'd like to share would be greatly appreciated.

(I'll try attach a few photos of some of my previous work for anyone curious) 

Thank you,

Liam 

Posted : 18/04/2023 2:30 am
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith