Notifications
Clear all

Liability Insurance

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I've been asked to set up at several local farmer's markets but will need liability

insurance. Can anyone suggest an insurance company that won't charge a

large fortune for a policy?

Thanks for your help.

Bill

Posted : 18/03/2014 5:03 pm
Matthew Parkinson
Honorable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)

We have our insurance through The Hartford pretty reasonable and decent coverage. They used to advertise through ABANA and had a policy designed for demoing smiths. ABANA is now working with CNA http://www.abana.org/downloads/member-resources/ABANA-Shop_9-22-10.pdf but I have no first hand knowledge of the new Comp.

Posted : 18/03/2014 7:31 pm
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

I understand needing some additional insurance in order to do demos and travel--something happens you'll need something.

Do smiths who work just at home need anything additional on top of their homeowner's insurance? I'm finding that lots of folks want to stop by to watch or even work on a project. Right now I'm in the "third world", so no big deal. But back in the States I'll need some type of coverage--I was just assuming that my homeowner's insurance would be plenty. Am I wrong? Any advice welcome. In the end, I'll probably just need to check with my insurance company, eh?

Steve

Posted : 19/03/2014 12:30 pm
Noble Member Apprentice Bladesmith

Bill,

I know that Barton Mutual writes a good bit of the liability policies of this type. Check with a local independent insurance broker. The rates should be minimal. Be sure to explain that you will be selling only and not making knives as that will up the rates considerably.

Gary

Posted : 19/03/2014 6:09 pm
BrionTomberlin