Notifications
Clear all

Needing Some Guidance

16 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith

|quoted:

I have been part Time knife making now for about a year and I'm absolutely in love with it. I think about it when I'm at work, when I go to bed, when I wake up...you get the picture lol it's like my addiction. ......

I guess my questions are how did you masters and journeymen get your starts? How on earth did y'all acquire all the big power hammers and mills etc?is there anyone in Arkansas that can show my hands on forging techniques instead of watching a video without breaking the bank? Is it even possible to obtain JS or MS without these important tools working a full time job away from home?

Any advice would be helpful and greatly appreciated.

Hi Mike

I'm an apprentice blademsith in Cape Town South Africa and am on somewhat of a similar journey to you, and as far as knifemaking goes I'm pretty obsessed.

I have been a stock removal maker for about 5 years, although I haven't been massively productive in that time as my day job keeps me quite busy but I have managed to make and sell about 55 knives. However despite having managed to setup a reasonable stock removal workshop and doing a fair amount of knifemaking my favourite knifemakers have always been bladesmiths and for a while now (about 2 years) I have been thinking about how to transition into bladesmithing.