Notifications
Clear all

Rust Prevention After Sanding

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

I have been trying to make batches of knives between 5 and 10 knives at a time. I am a hobbyist currently and have a full time job so batches are more convenient but there is some time from grinding to final buffing. Recently I started to use Windex while I sand to help keep dust down, lubrication and extending the life of my sand paper. I have started to do this after heat treat on the current batch. I am using 1084 steel from Aldo. After I complete a side I cover with blue painters tape to protect the work I have done. I then do the other side and tape. Once finished I put into a Tupperware and start putting together how it will be glued up with handle material, pins, etc. I noticed that some of my knives are now starting to rust. I have caught one beginning to rust under the tape prior to glue up and yesterday found one that was heavily pitted after handle glue up and now I have to re-sand the blade with a handle attached. Talk about being disappointed.

So I could use some advise here. I know that sanded high carbon steel is at greater risk of oxidation so how should I protect the finish. Do I skip the Windex and use a lubrication oil? I can see this getting messy and would be concerned that it would negatively impact a good glue up. Should I stay away from a batch process and just do one knife at a time not leaving enough time for rust to occur?

Scott

Posted : 27/07/2014 9:16 am
Noble Member Apprentice Bladesmith

Scott,

There are a couple of things that may help. One is eliminate the tape. Try giving the blade a coat of car wax instead to prevent the rusting. Just clean it off well before glueing with windex.

Also, the Tupper Ware may be a part of the problem. It's possible that it was trapping moisture next to the blades. I would try letting them set in a dry, open air place rather than in a sealed container.