Clear all

Take Down Frame Handle

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

Hello all,

I'm new to bladesmithing, so thank you for your help and your patience in advance. So far I have found this forum to be invaluable for it's wealth of good information. So the last knife I made was a frame handle, however I made the frame out of wood. So I had Birdseye Maple scales with a Walnut frame for contrast. I liked the way it turned out and I have an idea that I don't know how to make happen. I want to make a frame handle with Birdseye Maple scales and a Curly Maple frame and spacer (I can't think of a reason that using wood for the frame or the spacer is a bad idea, so if there is one, please enlighten me). The difficulty for me is that I like the lighter color of the Birdseye simply clear coated with a Boiled Linseed Oil and I like the Curly Maple darker from a brown dye of some kind. Is there a way for me to accomplish this without the dye running out of the frame and into the scales? The only thing I can really think of is making it a "take down handle" but I don't see myself being able to remove the frame from the scales a bunch of times while keeping pins tight before gluing and also without breaking it as the frame can be a little thin. Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks,

Travis<><

Posted : 25/01/2019 11:01 pm
Karl B. Andersen

I would not really know how to accomplish that with wood as the only components.

I make take-down knives, but with a steel frame to use screws for the scales.

Karl B. Andersen

Journeyman Smith

Posted : 26/01/2019 8:01 am
Joshua States