Hardness Testing Qu...

Notifications
Clear all

Hardness Testing Quality Assurance Practices

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

To what extent do Journeymen/Master smiths test for hardness using an impact tester? As an Apprentice, I'm trying to put a value on "knowing" the hardness using an impact tester versus assuming the hardness from following the published tempering recipe for the specific alloy. For those regularly using an impact tester, do you make duplicates for impact testing, sacrifice an occasional blade, or some other sampling method?

[email protected]

Posted : 21/02/2019 12:32 pm
Kevin R. Cashen

Jesse, I am not sure I understand. Are you asking about testing for hardness using a hardness tester such as in a Rockwell "C" scale test, or are you asking about impact toughness as in what would be measured with a Charpy/Izod type impact test? These are two completely different properties, tests and equipment. Many knifemakers will have a penetrative hardness tester, mostly for the Rockwell "C" scale test, it is the most common standard by measuring higher hardness in steel. Almost no knifemaker would have the means to do actual Charpy/Izod impact testing to determine impact toughness, and it is a very touchy test in knife blade levels of hardness. There are scleroscope hardness tests that work off from rebounded impact, but they only measure hardness rather than toughness, and I don't know of any knifemaker that has worked with one, myself included.