Notifications
Clear all

Quenching Oil

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
10.4 K Views
Topic starter

Has anybody used a high grade mineral oil ? I am in commercial refrigeration and can get it cost .I believe it will

work OK but not sure. along with that does everybody do just an edge quench or the hole blade and draw back the blade

I am new to forging so all info is appreciated .

Posted : 06/02/2014 10:22 pm
New Member Guest

Never used Mineral oil. I whole quench and draw back; olive oil, canola and I just got some Parks 50. I have read that mineral oil works.

Posted : 06/02/2014 10:36 pm
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith

I used "vet grade" mineral oil on 1080/1084 for probably two years. Made some "good" knives. I was tempering at 425 to get to RC 59/60 on small hunters. Then I got some 10 second commercial quench oil. The same 1084 edge chipped at a 425 temper, telling me that the faster oil was getting better martensite conversion. A 450 temper brought me back into spec.

The key piece of missing information from your post... what steel are we talking about? 1084, yes. 5160 or O1, likely. 1095, not likely.

Posted : 07/02/2014 12:23 am
New Member Guest

Generally speaking mineral oil isn't the best. That is not to say you won't be able to harden a blade in it, but you probably won't be able to get the most out of the steel. In the long run you will want to get a quenching oil. These come in different speeds, and you will want to match the speed of the quench with the type of steel you are using.

The question of whether to differentially harden or draw the temper is largely one of personal preference and I think there are advantages to each. Which will ultimately work best, will largely depend on your choice of steel.