Notifications
Clear all

Bladesmithing Class

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

I will taking a bladesmithing class this fall.I was wondering what items or equipment I need to bring with me to the class? Since I am new at this want to make sure I have the correct equipment especially safety equipment.

Thankyou Michael

Posted : 07/04/2019 3:56 pm
Lin Rhea

Michael,

I'm assuming it's an Introduction to Bladesmithing course.

Apron

safety glass (eye glasses are acceptable)

gloves

hammer (if you have a preference)

dust mask

drawing pad with pencils, French curve, rule, eraser, etc.

camera

Optional:

sweat band

lip balm

hydrating drinks

One other thing: Good Attitude

The instructors show you how and explain. The willingness to put it into practice and your ability to step up and perform the work is on you. Forgive yourself the many mistakes you are going to make and stick with it, realizing that you are learning to crawl, walk, then (maybe) run. It will likely be a years long effort so it will take one other thing: Commitment.

There will be other things added to the list by others. These are some things I have thought of. I wish you success.

Lin Rhea, ABS Mastersmith

[email="[email protected]"]Email me[/email]

www.rheaknives.com

Posted : 08/04/2019 8:21 am

Michael,

Great question. I agree with everything Lin listed - and would, after eye and ear protection, really emphasize taking the notebook, something to write with, and something to take pictures with. You will see more things than you can learn and remember at once and the notes you take will be valuable for a long time.

I have gone back and re-read my notes from my first hammer-in and learned new things that went over my head that first time but I was ready to learn them later.

Notes from all my old hammer-ins have become really valuable to me.

Posted : 08/04/2019 2:59 pm
BrionTomberlin