Clear all

Hello From Australia

15 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

Hi all from Canberra, Australia,

I've finally decided to start the process of working towards my Journeyman testing, with a number of other Aussies having inspired me to begin.

I've been making knives since 2013, after taking a class at Tharwa Valley Forge in Canberra, a place I am now fortunate to work at. I'm a big fan of taking classes to accelerate my learning and have done a bunch with some very talented Aussies. Last year I was fortunate to take place in a Master Class with Kevin Cashen, forging a Quillon dagger and then this year with Rodrigo Sfreddo, learning keyhole handles. Both Smiths left me astounded at their skill and humbled at my distinct lack of the same, but inspired to keep improving.

While I have a long way to go and a huge step-up in my work before I'm going to be anywhere near ready, I am hoping to achieve this in the next three years so I can test as soon as I am able. Not something I feel I have to do, but having a time-frame will keep me motivated.

I do a variety of knives but enjoy forging blades most and love making and working with Damascus. I make a lot more kitchen knives than anything else but enjoy daggers and am making an effort to make more hunters in the future. Attached is a few of my latest and I look forward to chatting with some of you in the future.

Regards,

Matt

Posted : 29/04/2019 6:39 am
Lin Rhea

It looks like you have applied the things learned well Matt. I'm glad to see you here with us. Great attitude as well.

Lin Rhea, ABS Mastersmith

[email="[email protected]"]Email me[/email]

www.rheaknives.com

Posted : 29/04/2019 8:04 am
Topic starter

|quoted:

It looks like you have applied the things learned well Matt. I'm glad to see you here with us. Great attitude as well.

Thank you Lin, I'm looking forward to this process and enjoying working my way through the forum. What a resource!

Matt