Notifications
Clear all

Hello From Eighty Four, Pa

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello Everyone.

I wanted to take a couple minutes to introduce myself. To say I'm excited about this new forging hobby I found is an understatement.

A little about my background, I started learning Leather and Metal craft from my high school shop teacher 24 years ago. To this day that man is still one of the closest and dearest friends I have. I've been creating items out of leather ever since. I have been making knives for the same period of time by utilizing the stock removal method. I have always preferred Damascus because of the patterns but had to search for the piece that had the pattern I wanted not knowing how it was actually made.

I'm sure everyone in this community hears it quite often, but having a conversation at work one afternoon about "Forged in Fire" is the reason I am here. I tend to live in a shell outside of my professional life. At any rate, I have found the part of this craft that I have been missing for the past 20+ years!!

During the 8 years I served in the Marine Corps after high school, I learned all about welding with that being my secondary MOS (Military Occupation Specialty). Since watching the show, I have been binge reading the heck out of this forum and have already crafted my own forge based on Ed Caffrey's recommendation in past posts, as well as quench tanks, burn table, post vise stands, you name it. I used some mild steel and am currently working on making tongs to learn with my hands how to make the metal move how I want.

I wanted to take the next step and Joined the ABS last week. I am going to the ABS Bladesmithing Symposium in Troy Ohio in August. I will be the guy with a notebook sitting in the corner, trying to stay as incognito as possible while absorbing knowledge like a sponge. I'm really happy to have found this new venture of crafting that I plan to carry with me for the rest of my life.

My goals