Notifications
Clear all

Hello From Lemoore, California

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
New Member Guest

Good Morning,

My name is Elijah Waddle. I am an Active Duty Naval Officer. I am brand new to bladesmithing. I am currently working on my first knife with a local Journeyman. I look forward to learning from and working with you all!

Posted : 04/05/2017 12:21 pm
New Member Guest

Here are a couple of photos of where I am with my knife and one of my workshop setup. I just got the stump for my anvil and need to level it out.

Attached files

Posted : 04/05/2017 12:59 pm
Honorable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)

Elijah

Welcome to the ABS and Forum, looks like you are off to a good start and have someone to help guide you. Enjoy.

Anthony

Posted : 04/05/2017 3:56 pm
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

Welcome, shipmate!

You're definitely in the right field for a customer base! I currently work at Ft. Bragg and when I mentioned to my coworkers that I'm starting to make knives, EVERYBODY wants one! My biggest concern is rushing the learning process trying to make my friends happy, but I also forewarn them that I'm just learning, so they support my learning process.

It's awesome that you found a journeyman smith to work with! You can only watch so many YouTube videos and read so many articles.

Good luck and welcome aboard!

Posted : 04/05/2017 10:36 pm
New Member Guest

|quoted:

Welcome, shipmate!

You're definitely in the right field for a customer base! I currently work at Ft. Bragg and when I mentioned to my coworkers that I'm starting to make knives, EVERYBODY wants one! My biggest concern is rushing the learning process trying to make my friends happy, but I also forewarn them that I'm just learning, so they support my learning process.

It's awesome that you found a journeyman smith to work with! You can only watch so many YouTube videos and read so many articles.

Good luck and welcome aboard!