Leather Sewing Mach...

Notifications
Clear all

Leather Sewing Machine?

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I am looking for a manual machine to sew leather sheaths. I'd really like an old treadle machine, but I have no idea which ones if any are up too the task. I am just getting started with making knives an the local leather craftsman that I was going to use for the sheaths till it was better timing for me to branch into it was killed in a car wreck. So now I have to scramble and get set up for leather work as well. Unfortunately it seems his wife sold off the machines from his shop already online too. I just got my first deals worked out this week for shops to sell my knives and they all want sheaths included. I just need something reliable and simple to get started so I can get some money coming back into the shop. The amount of time it takes to hand stitch a good sheath is killing me.

Posted : 28/10/2016 3:45 pm
Reputable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)

I hope you get some good answers. I've been looking for one myself. Most places I find seem to recommend a Tippmann Boss, which can run over $1200 new. That's a little too much for me in the cost vs time savings.

If you haven't made many yet, I would suggest trying a couple out with a drill press. After some practice I think you'll be able to drill out and sew up a 3 layered sheath in about 20-30 minutes.

If anyone has a $200-300 or less solution that works great, I'd love to hear it, because that would be totally worth it to me.

Posted : 31/10/2016 9:31 am
Karl B. Andersen

A treadle machine just won't handle it. They're not designed for such work.

Probably best off to start saving and get a Boss or similar machine.

Karl B. Andersen

Journeyman Smith

Posted : 31/10/2016 9:51 am
Karl B. Andersen

I will admit that doing a "leather sewing machine" search on Ebay brings up some interesting results.

Karl B. Andersen

Journeyman Smith

Posted : 31/10/2016 9:54 am
Topic starter