Notifications
Clear all

Identifying makers mark

4 Posts
3 Users
2 Likes
New Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

I'm new to the forum, and I don't know if this is the right place to post... Here goes... I picked up what appears to be a katana blade. It has a makers mark that I hope someone can identify. Or point me in the right direction to identify it. Below is a picture of the maker's mark and the overall blade. Thanks for pointers.

This topic was modified 2 years ago by Charles Alexander

Posted : 27/01/2022 4:53 pm
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith

I'm not an expert on the way other cultures/bladesmith mark their work, but on the surface that appears it might be an authentic Japanese character(s).   Hopefully someone else can offer an avenue/contact where you can learn more.

A quick search turned up these:  https://www.thejapanesesword.com/   

or possibly: https://nihontoantiques.com/   either might be worth the effort of contacting them.

I'm going to use your post as a platform to discuss one of my pet peeves.... marker's marks/marking blades. 

If you are a Bladesmith, and using some obscure logo, initials, or other mark that does nothing to identify who made a blade/knife, then you are basically destroying your own future.  At the very least.... a name! And if possible, any additional information that can further point an interested party to YOU. 

Example:  In my case, I mark one side of the ricasso with CAFFREY, and fortunately I am the only Caffrey that I know of in the custom knife world.  The other side of the ricasso is marked with my MS stamp, further identifying a piece as specifically mine.

That means that if you were to do an internet search using only the information presented on one of my blades..... I'd be first to pop up.  The point being, if people can't identify a knife as being made by you, then they have no way of finding you, and will usually quickly move along, to another Bladesmith, that is easier to find.