Clear all

Questions about a Hot (use) Chisel?

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Kevin Stinson
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

I have been using a cold Chisel to hot cut for a couple of years and have been meaning to buy a hot (use) Chisel for a couple of years. I finally just made one from a piece of coil spring. I have not used a proper one since i finished a blacksmithing course i took 3 years ago and I am a little worried I may have it too thin at about 1/8th inch thick...so i am wondering if i should go back and remake it or if its fine as is. Also, should I put an edge like a cold Chisel and hut cut hardy on it? 

Side note: I have yet to heat treat this, but I plan on just doing an interrupted quench in water to harden it, then letting it auto-temper as i have done with some punches I have made to insure I have a hard cutting edge but a soft striking portion.

Thank you for your time.

Posted : 01/09/2023 4:07 pm
Topic Tags
Dennis P Tingle
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith

What you have there is a slitting chisel, which is a slender hot cut chisel. It will work as long as you cool it in water  every 3 hammer blows. Be sure to harden the entire flat part. Otherwise it will bend during use. The edge should be a fat apple seed edge. Many of us will grind flats into the handle so that it can be held with tongs instead of your fingers. Orient the flats to match the cutting edge , that helps to line it up while using.

Posted : 02/09/2023 10:25 am
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

If you want to forge your own tools, I highly recommend Mark Aspery's first book, the skills of the blacksmith.

Posted : 02/09/2023 10:46 am
Kevin Stinson
Topic starter

Sorry, qoates not working for me and this is a bit rambly.