Notifications
Clear all

Guidance Needed On How To Form The Cutting Edge

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,

I am not sure where to post this question (or series of questions) but I thought it might fit here. I have browsed through the forum and found some good information, but as a newcomer here I haven’t found exactly what I was hoping to find. Since I am new here, if it is already out there maybe steering me to it would be the easiest way to answer my questions.

I am looking for guidance on forming the cutting edge on a knife. I am trying to avoid reference to sharpening a knife. From what I gather most (many?) makers finish up with a stone. I’ve been doing that for years and while I am not an expert, it has worked well. However, until I recently started making knives, all of the knives I’ve sharpened already had the cutting edge formed. My questions are about the best way to take an edge left thick (to survive heat treating) and get it down to a relatively sharp edge (after heat treat) ready to sharpen on a stone.

What I do now is grind my secondary bevels before heat treating. I have a Coote belt grinder with a low angle attachment so I can get the “correct” angle on the secondary bevel (e.g. 25 degrees for a hunting knife). As the last step when finishing a knife, I use a Lansky sharpening system with an angle guide to sharpen the blade to the correct angle. If the edge is thick, or the original angle is slightly off, it takes a significant length of time to get the thickness down with the coarse stone to a fine edge, ready for the finer stones.