Notifications
Clear all

The Ongoing Mission Of The Abs

51 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
DERRICK WULF
Estimable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)

|quoted:

Done! I say the ABS should have an Instagram account. There’s one, but you already had me, now you only need fourteen more votes, you can find them here:

http://www.americanbladesmith.com/index.php?section=pages&id=151 all some of the finest people I have met, but will have to be mostly on the same page as us.

Now who can we find to run it?

I am not experienced with Instagram so bring me up to speed here, about how many times per week should an Instagram feed be updated in order to be effective? Once we establish that, we can then get an idea how many more hours our Instagram person will need to devote to shaking the bushes, sending e-mails and begging for those photos. It may seem like the supply is available and endless, but other resources like the forum, the YouTube channel, the e-mail newsletter or the Journal have found it a challenge to keep the supply of submissions going.

Don’t get me wrong I am not against the idea at all, quite the contrary- I proposed the Instagram idea about two years ago, so I am actually way ahead of you on this. But I also now have the perspective of how tough it can be to run something the size of the ABS if you don’t have a solid stream of volunteers ready to make things happen. As a board member I can always do better in serving the membership, but "membership" implies that we are part of something, which means each and every one of us can do more to make our wishes reality.

This actually brings up a whole new, and perhaps even better, question. How does the ABS inspire, engage and energize our membership to want to do what it takes to make our ideas happen? Before we find those answers, so many of our ideas will remain on the wish list.