Notifications
Clear all

Heat treat ovens?

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hey guys. I’m looking at getting a heat treat ovens. I looked around online and I found parigrin and even heat. There are so many options I got lost and i was wondering if y’all think one is better or what kind you would recommend and any other advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks guys! 

Posted : 23/05/2021 7:54 pm
Karl B Andersen
Journeyman Bladesmith Forum Moderator

All I will add is that I have had my Evenheat for 20 years.

Even the old simple 4 program capabilities of that controller do everything I have ever needed.

It's still in use today. All I've ever had to do is replace burned out coils.

Posted : 24/05/2021 6:48 am
Kevin R. Cashen
Estimable Member Admin

I have both an Evenheat and a Paragon my my shop.  The Evenheat is an old workhorse that I have been using since 1994, but since it has been used to fire salt baths I have had to replace a lot of components due to ugly accidents that were no fault of the kiln.  The controllers and relays are customized by me, and so go a bit beyond what may come stock.

The Paragon is a new unit that I got about three years ago to help with some of my teaching.  It has some bells and whistles, like argon purge.  This is the fastest heating kiln I have ever worked with. 

Other than some bells and whistles, either high tech or low tech could do anything I need for basic bladesmithing.  Either unit will work quite well.    

Posted : 24/05/2021 9:00 am
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith