Notifications
Clear all

Greetings From The Land Of 10,000 Lakes

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter

Omm Hello I'm Kevin Stinson and I just joined ABS, I am on the autism spectrum at level 1, an insomniac with ADHD and am turning 30 in May. I'm not the best at introducing myself so I'm just going to wing it. Im self tought (So far)and have made around 16 successful blades so far. I just bought the Atlus Miniforge a gas powered forge made for making knifes, however I started out using a home built charcoal forge. I enjoy Making blades that are loosely based on classic blades like some of the classic tanto's, however i prefer making blades i design myself. however i am still learning to make blades from a tenplate as the first 14 blades I have made I just did what I call free forging. free forging is kinda like free sculpting were you let the metal transform into what it wants to be. I enjoy forging spring steels and only use a hand hammer cause that is all i have assess to. however i do use a few power tools as well: dremel rotary tool, angle grinder, bench grinder, belt sander and a drill press. I also do not have a proper anvil yet so i use a combo vice anvil. I recently got on Social security disability so I have some money to invest into bladesmithing and hope to make it my profession. I also enjoy forging to music or books on tape.

I have been interested in blades since I was around 5 years old and saw some cheap knifes at a county fair in a crane crank thinggy game and won it. I have been interested in swords since i saw the first five minutes of highlander, then my grandma who was babysitting me changed the channel. i enjoy learning about metallurgy and the history along with whatever catches my interest when i cant sleep. I went back to school last year and learned to weld, but am having a bit of a hard time finding a job do to poor work history and underling issue stemming from my autism.