Clear all

Benchtop mill or forge press?

8 Posts
5 Users
1 Likes
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

All - 

I'm a serious hobbyist knifemaker looking for advice on my next major equipment purchase.  Making 3 years, likely going to submit JS test blade in the next year or so, really concentrating on guard fit/overall finish work now.  I either own or have ready access to a lot of the basics (good 2x72, heat treat oven, forges, power hammer, surface grinder, media blaster).  I also do decorative blacksmithing and forge tool making, but knives are my primary concentration.

My question (and I know it depends, just looking for opinions) - would a forge press or a decent benchtop mill be a more logical next purchase?  I can't do more than 1 major purchase a year cause I don't wanna get divorced! 🙂  I can see pros and cons to both, and they are very different tools, just looking for other folks thoughts.  Thanks!

Steve

Posted : 29/10/2023 1:38 pm
BRION TOMBERLIN
Forum moderator Forum Moderator

Hello Steve. In my opinion go for the mill. It will definitely help with guard fit up and numerous other things, such as a super accurate drill press. You already have a power hammer. I think a press can wait.

Brion

Posted : 29/10/2023 6:58 pm
Joshua C States
Reputable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)

I second the benchtop mill as the next item in your toolkit. Especially if you are planning to test for your JS. Guard slotting is much more accurate and drilling pins even more so with the bench mill. There are many more uses for that tool to discover as well. I use my mini-mill to surface handle slabs and even non-ferrous metals sometimes.

“So I'm lightin' out for the territory, ahead of the scared and the weak and the mean spirited, because Aunt Sally is fixin’ to adopt me and civilize me, and I can't stand it. I've been there before.”

Posted : 29/10/2023 10:38 pm
Topic starter