Notifications
Clear all

First hamon, not sure what happened

15 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

This is my first attempt at a hamon so I was not expecting perfection but I also was not expecting what I got. 

First off, the steel is 1075 from NJSB. The Mn content in this batch is 0.434. 

I forged the blade by hand then normalized and annealed in vermiculite. 

After refining the profile and roughing in the bevels on the grinder I hand sanded to 120 grit. 

I’ll include a picture below of the blade with the clay applied. Using hamon 1800 clay I did my best to keep the thickness consistent along the length of the blade. It wound up being between 1/16 and 3/32 I think. 

After allowing the clay to dry thoroughly I austenitized at 1475-1480 (according to the thermocouple in my forge) and soaked for about 5 min before quenching in parks50 heated to around 70 degrees. 

The blade did not warp and the clay mostly stayed on. In fact it was quite difficult to remove. 

Tempered one hour at 350 and then 2 hours at 375-400 (according to the oven thermometer in my toaster oven). 

I ground and sanded and polished all the way to 2000 grit then etched with lemon juice twice and vinegar once removing the oxides in between. 

Long story short, I followed all the advice I could find on the internet haha. As you can see I definitely produced a hamon but it is not pretty. Also I am confused as to why it widens and fades to nothing as it nears the tip. Was my clay too thin? Too thick? I have already decided that the pattern in which I applied the clay was not helping me. 

Please chime in with any advice! I’m already addicted to this hamon stuff and I want to do it better next time! 🙂

Thanks in advance

-David

Posted : 13/02/2024 11:19 am
Topic starter

Here is the picture of the blade with the clay applied. I couldn’t figure out how to attach more than one picture in the first post

Posted : 13/02/2024 11:20 am
Topic starter