Notifications
Clear all

Introduction and question.

6 Posts
4 Users
2 Likes
Scott Sweder
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

Hi everyone! I am a Blacksmith/Bladesmith in NW Montana.

I have been doing this full time for 20+years, mainly Architectural ironwork.

Now on to the question. I have been a member on and off for a number of years prior to my latest 5 year membership. I am interested in testing for Journeyman. With the time frame to wait for testing, Do I have to wait till I am in my 3rd year of this membership time or could I test this year? I know I am probably in a unique situation and I just want to ask and not make assumptions. Rick Dunkerly has offered to do my performance test but I don't want to waste his valuable time if I can't present blades in Atlanta till next year.

Posted : 04/02/2022 5:55 pm
Kevin R. Cashen
Estimable Member Admin

Hello Scott, 

The time served must be consecutive.  If you miss six months, or a year, but get back to your membership, you would need to pay all back dues and late fees to make up for the time lost, otherwise you start over with the newest join date with a continuous membership.   

Folks often get confused by the time requirements for JS, and the parameters.  Your time required is 3 years from the date of joining and being issued your Apprentice membership.  If you joined in May of 2019 you could test in June of 2022.  if you joined in August of 2019, you could test in June of 2023 but not in June of 2022, as a full three years had not elapsed.  You can take your physical test anytime in leading up to your judging, and it is best to do it at least six months before the judging so that you could conceivably squeeze in another test should the first one not work out so well.   All of the parameters still work, but the time required drops to two years if you have successfully completed an approved ABS Intro to Bladesmithing course.    

This post was modified 2 years ago by Kevin R. Cashen