Notifications
Clear all

Learning In Alabama

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Josh Foran
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

Hello everyone!

My name is Josh Foran. I've been playing around for about two years or so in my free time. I've greatly enjoyed my journey so far and want to start to learn how to take my work to the next level. I look forward to learning what I can and improving!

Here is my journey thus far:

Made a banana from a coil spring and black palm:

Then made a K-tip chefs knife and a skinner from the same piece of 5160. The chefs knife was a hidden tang with cocobolo handle and the skinner is full tang with galcon alves handle.

The next was a Jason Knight inspired brute de forge knife from his maker series. Not the same knife, but kind of my take on it. 5160 with curly maple handle.

Next was a boot knife my friend asked me to make for his mom. It's 5160 with buckeye burl handle. I forged a spring clip to use for the sheath as well. I finished it and the sheath tonight and will be taking pictures tomorrow in the daylight. These pictures are work in progress pictures:

And my most recent is a blade I made for my friend as a wedding gift. It's 5160 with lightly curly maple handle:

Lastly I'm working on a twist "damascus" santoku and chefs knife:

I feel like I learn so many new things with each knife and the more I learn, the more I realize I don't know. I'm excited to be a part of the ABS and I hope to learn all I can and work my way up from here!

-Josh

Josh Foran
Josh of all Trades Blacksmithing

Posted : 15/05/2020 11:20 pm
Lin Rhea

I like what I'm seeing Josh.

You are heading in the right direction for sure. A couple things that might help you. In my opinion, your handles could use thinning a bit. You might experiment with that. The sculpting is great, just thinner.