New Member from Ocala, FL

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
William Milton
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

Hello, 

My name is Erik Milton.  I am originally from Moore, Oklahoma, but recently retired from the Air Force where I was a Biomedical Equipment Repair Technician.  I currently reside in Ocala, Florida and work as a Librarian.  I recently made my first knife, and now I wish I would have gone to the Blacksmith School that I passed everyday on my way to the University of Oklahoma 30 years ago.  I am looking forward to learning, and making friends.

Erik Milton

Posted : 02/06/2023 12:56 pm
William Milton
Topic starter

Thank you for the tip Michael.  I am also really close to Steve Schwarzer.  I would really like to spend a couple of days with him at the forge, and maybe learn a great deal about Damascus patterns from him.

Erik Milton

Posted : 03/06/2023 10:34 am
Ed Caffrey
Prominent Member Master Bladesmith

Welcome to the forums!  Responses will likely be limited right now, because most folks are at the Blade Show in Atlanta.  I would typically be there too, but for health reasons I've had to stop going to shows, and now conduct all of my business through the internet or in person at my Montana shop.     

Thanks for your service!  I to am retired USAF, retiring out of a RED HORSE unit as Supt of Airfields.  I juggled both full time military, and full time Bladesmithing for most of my AF career.  I achieved both my JS and MS ratings while I was full time AF.   

During my last deployment to "The Desert", my wife asked me.... "Are you going to be a full time Knifemaker when you retire?"  Retire!?.... we'd never considered/talked about that before.   When I got home from that deployment, my Mrs had sourced the materials, and had plans for a new Forging shop!