How far to grind a ...

Notifications
Clear all

How far to grind a W2 7 inch chef knife before claying for hamone

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Reputable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)
Topic starter

Hello,

I've never worked with W2 before, so I'm new to the stuff. I'm working with 1/8in stock, on a 7 inch blade chef's knife. It will probably be 0.100 by the time I get it flat.

What edge thickness should I be aiming for before applying clay to hamone? I plan on using parks 50.

Thanks,

Nick

Posted : 30/08/2023 9:17 pm
Karl B Andersen
Journeyman Bladesmith Forum Moderator

If it were me, I'd do an initial grind only up about maybe 3/4" and leave about .040" at the edge.

When I do a thin knife like this I will quench the blade for 10 seconds or less to get the steel down to about 400 degrees when the blade is still smoking - no in flames! - when I remove it from the oil. This is approx. MS - martensite start.

Then I have some aluminum angles in my post vise and I quickly crank the blade straight - no messing around.

But - you're going to have clay on your blade, which, if one was to clamp it like I do, may actually induce wonky stuff. I don't know.

But for sure, I've been doing hamons for nearly 20 years in full thickness steel. Leaving your steel full thickness at 1/8" will still result in efficient hamon-ing. And also help to minimize warping.

You may need to just jump in and find out what you don't know.

Posted : 31/08/2023 7:44 am
BRION TOMBERLIN
Forum moderator Forum Moderator