Notifications
Clear all

Books And Learning Resources

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Patrick Mattingly
Topic starter

Hey guys, I'm looking for recommendations on learning materials.

I've been a hobbyist bladesmith for 9 years and I am almost entirely self taught with the exception of YouTube learning videos. I've started to feel like I've hit a wall in my craftsmanship and personally believe it may be time to go back to the basics and build a better foundation. I can't afford the official training at the schools, but I was wondering what books or other resources you all would recommend I purchase for study?

Here is an example of my work so you can get a basic idea of my current level of skill, and may know where I need to go from here.

Attached files

Posted : 05/08/2020 7:06 pm
Joshua States

http://www.americanbladesmith.com/index.php?section=product

Joshua States

www.dosgatosforge.com

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdJMFMqnbLYqv965xd64vYg

https://www.facebook.com/dos.gatos.71

Also on Instagram and Facebook as J.States Bladesmith

“So I'm lightin' out for the territory, ahead of the scared and the weak and the mean spirited, because Aunt Sally is fixin’ to adopt me and civilize me, and I can't stand it. I've been there before.”

Posted : 05/08/2020 9:01 pm
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

Do you belong to any of the local blacksmith groups?

Posted : 06/08/2020 10:35 am

I think Handles and Guards by Joe Keeslar is one of the best books out there to get you into the "flow".

Another great resource for me anyway is pinterest, see what others have done before you and borrow ideas.

https://www.pinterest.com/abswebmaster/abs-testing/

Instagram @drunken.bladesmith

Posted : 06/08/2020 12:35 pm
Patrick Mattingly
Topic starter

|quoted:

Do you belong to any of the local blacksmith groups?