Notifications
Clear all

Karambit

12 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

This is only blade #8. It is 8670 with ironwood scales. I would appreciate some feedback if at all possible. Thanks!

Posted : 29/03/2024 12:22 am
Eminent Member Apprentice Bladesmith

First off, I want to say that looks fantastic! If that is your eighth blade, you should be very proud of what you've managed to make. I know my eighth blade didn't look nearly so nice as that.

As for feedback, I'm no expert myself, so feel free to take what I say with a grain of salt, or ignore it altogether.

I like how the handle is shaped. The front of the scale is especially nicely done. It could just be the lighting, but between the first and second pin, I'm seeing circular impressions in the wood. Is this a part of the grain of the wood, or is it something else?

The bevel is nicely formed. The top arc looks pretty much perfect. Right in the middle of the bottom bevel, the top of the bevel goes a little flat, but that's a minor nitpick. I know how difficult it is to do a bevel on an inside curve like that. My bigger comment related to the bevel is along the edge. The photo makes it look like the edge geometry is pretty steep, just judging by the thickness of the sharpening bevel. Maybe that's what you were going for, but I wanted to point it out just in case you weren't aware. I know I wish that I had learned more about blade geometry earlier on.

I got to attend a hammer-in last year, and I learned a useful tip for judging the edge geometry. I've attached a photo that I took of it, but it basically involves setting your calipers to 0.040 inches and seeing how far up the bevel the calipers will travel. The further the calipers can go up the bevel, the thinner your edge geometry is.

Overall, I really like the blade; I think you did a great job. I hope some of this can help you!

Posted : 01/04/2024 1:51 am
Topic starter