Clear all

Monitoring journeyman blade performance

5 Posts
3 Users
3 Likes
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

Good morning,

Attached is a pic of my first journeyman performance 1084 test blade after a quench in parks 50 and the refractory cement removed.  I’m sure this is the first of many tests.  I’m documenting my process as I go; however, it feels a bit hit or miss to me.  Any suggestions for qualitatively monitoring the physical properties of the blade at home.  My wife will not be happy with me if I turn our basement into a materials testing laboratory…

Thanks in advance for suggestions & recommendations.  

cheers,

John

Posted : 11/11/2021 10:10 am
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

Hi John-

I understand there are files standardized to various hardnesses that one can use to estimate hardness, but I have no experience with the tools

I'd like to look at your knife pic, but can't open the .heic file type. Are you able to post the photo in a different format?

Thanks.

[email protected]

Posted : 11/11/2021 2:30 pm
John Phelps reacted
Active Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

Let me know if this format works.   Thanks!

Posted : 11/11/2021 6:20 pm
Trusted Member Apprentice Bladesmith (5yr)

To quote Crocodile Dundee, "Now, that's a knife." I was able to download the.pdf and view your blade. A jpeg under 1MB might be easier for others to view the blade.

Enjoy and good luck in keeping your knifemaking in the basement.

[email protected]

Posted : 11/11/2021 9:23 pm
John Phelps reacted
Joshua C States
Reputable Member Journeyman Bladesmith (5yr)