Clear all

What do you use for lube when hand sanding...PSA

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Kevin Stinson
Estimable Member Apprentice Bladesmith
Topic starter

I am not new to hand sanding(i prefer the world hand polishing) i have been doing it for two years both with paper and stones, and with diamond plates (DMT pocket stones that were on sale and i want to get some other grits of them but there not as good as paper).  normally, I just use water and still do for my foundation (first) polish as i like to save on sandpaper and use a 220 Micron DMT pocket stone, but I started using other things to lubricate the abrasives...and yesterday it hit me that with the exception of the Citadel Black and olive oil  all of these have on the label: Keep out of reach of children, the poison control hotline and in the case of the sharpening stone oil: ingestion Inhalation of white mineral oil vaper should be avoided. We are inhaling these for the hours it takes to get our hand polish done. on the other hand Oilve oil, conola oil (and other vegetable oils)...dont have this warning on them so i tried them out on a 1075 blade i am working on ...and they work very well...and smell a lot more pleasant. so why do we using Thred cutting oil, WD 40, Windex as we will be inhaling them as we polish...and i dont think we think to wear a resporator (at least i did not) as we were working. 

I will acknowledge the Veggtable oils probably will encourage bactiral growth and yes there likely are people allergic to them...but those issues that can be solved just by washing them. am i saying we should be using Olive oil for thread cutting and cleaning our windows no i am saying we should use These things for their intended use only, and use vegetable oils for hand polishing. espeically since Thred cutting oil cost 1.04$  per fluid ounce well cheap olive oil cost $.22 and conola oil cost $.15 per fluid ounce and you can get a lot more of it. i found conola oil to be more water like then olive oil.